The League of Women Voters of Ames and Story County is pleased to honor Linda Murken with its 2016 Carrie Chapman Catt Award.
Linda began her career in the State of Iowa corrections field in 1973 as the first woman parole officer in Iowa to supervise male clients, in 1976 she was appointed the first executive director of the Second Judicial District Department of Community Based Corrections. Linda was the only woman director, and remained the only one, until a few years before her retirement in 2010. As director she was instrumental in the development of treatment programs for domestic abusers and for sex offenders. Her goal was always to keep offenders out of prison and in the community where available services were much more likely than a prison sentence to promote and effect reform. Highly regarded by her peers, in 2010 Linda received the Iowa Corrections Association’s Larry Brimeyer Exceptional Leadership Development Award.

When Linda retired, she quickly became actively involved in the League of Women Voters of Ames and with the League of Women Voters of Iowa Justice Committee, which works on justice issues at the Capitol. She combines her professional knowledge with her passion for League justice positions to advocate for restoring rights to those who successfully complete their sentences in the corrections system. In 2011 Linda took office as president-elect on the board of directors of the Ames League. Becoming president in 2012, she mentored new board members, increased League visibility in the community through new voter service projects, worked to improve our website and encouraged electronic communications, and moved the Ames League toward becoming a countywide organization. Then in 2015, serving on the Ames board as past president, she spearheaded VOTE [...]