Making Democracy Work

League present at Rieman Gardens event

Here's your League ready to register voters at the Reiman Gardens Flower Caucus event this summer


Jan Beran (1997)

By the selection committee of Ruth Hamilton, Judie Hoffman and Meg Tait. This article was printed in The Voter in April 1997.

We are pleased to announce that Jan Beran is the 5th recipient of the Carrie Chapman Catt Award given by the Ames League of Women Voters.  Jan served as president of the Ames League from 1991-93 and is presently serving as state president.  On the local level she has served as chair of the League finance committee and the international relations committee.  In addition to this, she has written a booklet on the history of the League in Iowa, which is now in 1,200 school and public libraries across the state.

Jan has been very active in church work locally and on state and national levels.  She worked as a missionary in the Philippines from 1959-73 where she taught at Silliman University and she has served many years as a youth leader and church school teacher at Northminster Presbyterian Church.  She presently is an elder and was recently elected as moderator of the Synod of Lakes and Prairies, which includes 967 churches in eight states.

In addition to being the parents of three children and grandparents of five, Jan and her husband George have been foster parents since 1980 and had eight long-term placements of teenagers in their home plus 22 short-term placements.

Her service on community boards is most impressive. Jan has been president of Heartland Senior services,  The Iowa-Partners of the Americas and the Ames chapter of the United Nations.  She has served on the boards of the Ames-ISU Bike Committee, the Iowa-Yucatan Partners and the Iowa Peace Institute Peacemakers.

Jan has received many awards in recognition of her work including a Faculty Citation from [...]

By |August 2nd, 2013|Catt Award Winners|Comments Off on Jan Beran (1997)

Judie A. Hoffman (1996)

1996 Chapman Catt Award to Judie A. Hoffman

By the selection Committee of Carol Grant, chair; Julia Anderson and Jean Peterson. This article was printed in The Voter in April 1996.

Judie A. Hoffman is the recipient of the 4th Annual League of Women Voters of Ames Carrie Chapman Catt Award.  She will be honored at the Annual Dinner and Meeting on April 18, 1996.    

Judie is a long time member of the League of Women Voters, serving in many capacities locally and as vice president of the Iowa League of Women Voters board for three years, 1985-87.    

Judie has had a long and distinguished career of service in Ames and throughout the state of Iowa as an elected officeholder, legislative lobbyist, volunteer and lecturer.  Early in her career she was a teacher.  She is currently serving as council person on the Ames City Council, an elected position she has held since 1988.

Volunteer appointments include Ames Cy Ride Board of Directors, Ames Economic Development commission, Iowa Business Council’s Solid Waste Committee, Governor Brandstad’s Committee on Environmental Agenda for the 1990’s, Story County Resource Enhancement and Protection Committee (REAP), Ames Visitor and convention Bureau Board, Chairperson of Story County Toxic Cleanup Day, Iowa Low level Radioactive Waste Advisory Board and Ames Planning and Zoning Commission (chairperson, 1983-86). 

Judie is active in Collegiate Presbyterian Church where she has served on the session, as a deacon, and taught adult Sunday School Classes. Judie began her career as a public school teacher for seven years and taught child development at the college level for two years.

Judie has an additional expertise as public speaker that has included presentations to numerous public and private organizations—churches, LWV local meetings and state conventions and [...]

By |August 1st, 2013|Catt Award Winners|Comments Off on Judie A. Hoffman (1996)