Who was Carrie Chapman Catt?

Photo of Carrie Chatman Catt

Carrie Chapman Catt

Carrie Chapman Catt, probably the most famous Iowan associated with the women's suffrage movement, was born in 1859 and grew up near Charles City, Iowa. A feminist from her earliest school days, Catt was responsible for creating a women's physical education program at Iowa State Agricultural College (now ISU), where she graduated in 1880. Though she did not become fully involved in the women's movement until 1885, in 1900 she succeeded Susan B. Anthony as president of the National Woman Suffrage Association. In 1919, she helped found the National League of Women Voters. After Catt left Iowa, she continued to help women in their unsuccessful struggle to amend the Iowa Constitution to allow women to vote, long before the ratification of the 19th amendment in 1920, seeing through her efforts until finally the 19th amendment was ratified. Catt died in 1947.

2018 Carrie Chapman Catt Award Recipient

Mary Sand

Mary Sand

Mary Sand’s work to combat injustice and unfairness has made a difference from local community efforts to global justice issues. She has used her professional dietetics training to help organize and coordinate the Eastwood Community Garden in Ames and to create and teach an Introductory Nutrition and Healthy Choices class to elementary school students. Mary has also had an active leadership role in Amnesty International for virtually her whole adult life, joining Amnesty International in 1975 and the Ames Group 40 chapter in 1979. She has been the local leader of that group for decades, and acts as the Amnesty International State Coordinator for Iowa. She has been a member of the Ames-Story County League of Women Voters since 2011 and has served on the Board of Directors since 2013. She also is a member of the Onion Creek Band and has been called the best fiddler in Iowa.

Carrie Chapman Catt Award Winners, 1993 to the present

Click on an honoree's name to see the nominating committee's full commendation. 


 Devita Harden


linda 2

Linda Murken


Sandra McJimsey

Sandra McJimsey


Joyce Samuels

Joyce Samuels


Photo of Bev Kruempel

2013 Beverly Kruempel


Photo of Jane Halliburton

Jane Halliburton


Photo of Jeannette Bohnenkamp

Jeannette Bohnenkamp



2010 Nancy B

Nancy Brown




2009 Martha I


Martha Issacson


2008 Selva R-L

Selvig Reissig Lehman



2007 Joyce H


Joyce Hertz



2006 Judy C

Judy Clem


2005 Jane G

Jane Greiman


2004 Ruth J

Ruth M. Jones



2003 Johnie H


Johnie Hammond


2002 Ann C

Ann Hamilton Campbell



2001 Judy D


Judy Dolphin


2000 Ruth S

Ruth Swenson


1999 Mary R

Mary Richards


1998 Jackie Manatt

Jackie Manatt



1997 Jan B


Jan Beran


1996 Judie H

Judie Hoffman


1995 Julia F-A

Julia Faltinson Anderson


1994 Ruth H

Ruth Hamilton


1993 Helen L-H

Helen LeBaron Hilton