By the selection committee of Judy Dolphin, Dianne Bystrom, and Gracie Larsen. This article was printed in The Voter in April 2002.

2002 Ann CIt is clear that when Ann Campbell makes a commitment she does not waver. Ann's commitment to the democratic process and the ideals of the League of Women Voters assures her selection as the 2002 Carrie Chapman Catt Award given by the LWV of Ames.

Ann joined the Ames League in January 1975. She accepted her first leadership role in 1976 when she joined the Board of Directors as Juvenile Justice Chair. She and sister League member Jean Peterson were responsible for the formulation and continuation of the Juvenile Justice Workshop lunch meetings which brought together the police department, a variety of agencies working with juveniles, and the schools. These monthly meetings, which continue today, opened lines of communication previously not available. Ann and her League cohorts carried out the local study of Juvenile Justice, and she continued to advocate for the Leagues’ position.

Ann’s other serious commitment in the League was legislative action. In 1980 she chaired the Con-Con action committee, which informed citizens about the need to reject a ballot issue calling for an Iowa Constitutional convention. That same year, she served on the speaker’s bureau, which supported the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment. She was 50 percent successful in November—the Constitutional Convention call was defeated (LWV position), but the Equal Rights Amendment did not pass. Ann served as Legislative Action Chair, Working hard to engage citizens in the legislative process.

Ann was a driving force in bringing together students and administration as Iowa State University and the City of Ames created the partnership resulting in the Ames Transit System (Cy-Ride). In 1982, Ann and several members of League took the leadership, partnering with the University, City of Ames and Chamber of Commerce, to apply for the All-American Cities award given by the Citizens Forum on Self Government. The application featured the Cy-Ride. As chair of the Ames Transit Advisory Board, Ann along with John Harrod from Iowa State went to Seattle to present the Ames proposal. In 1983, Ann was also at the White House to help receive the award! Ann’s commitment to Cy-Ride always will be remembered by Iowa State students who recently named the new bus stop accommodation at Iowa State Center in her honor.

In 1985, Ann was elected city council person in the third ward. Her ward reflected a mixed constituency of ISU students in residence halls, apartments, sororities and fraternities, as well as single family homes and campus town businesses. Ann’s listening skills, her approachability, her consensus-building skills, and her ability to get as much information as possible combined to make her an effective and long-term council person. She retired in January 2002, after 16 years of service!

Ann personifies the principles of the League of Women Voters. She believes in study before action. She lives the slogan, “Democracy is not a spectator sport.” She is consistent in support of good ideas and ideals. Ann truly is an award winner.